Ramblings

December 30, 2006

SonSpring | jQuery Portlets

Filed under: ajax, widgets — michaelangela @ 10:16 am

Portlets. The demo is sweet. Several panels on a page, drag and drop… a sort of instant PageFlakes. Nice demo indeed.

SonSpring | jQuery Portlets:

I am going to go out on a limb here and say that this whole crazy notion about Ajax (it’s not an acronym), JavaScript and Web Standards is more than just a fad. In fact, I dare say that it is here to stay. Yes sir-ee, these Intarwebs are alive with so many flashy widgets, you’d swear we are in the 1990’s all over again. Recently, the man himself – Zeldman had this to say about it.

Web 1.0: Pointless Flash widgets.
Web 2.0: Pointless “Ajax” widgets.

Not to be left behind, I have found myself using JavaScript more and more in the workplace. Without wanting to spark a debate over which JavaScript framework / toolkit is superior, I just wanted to say that jQuery is very cool and well worth checking out. Much like I did with my pointless moo.fx iMac, I have put together a little demo showing off some of jQuery’s native features. Initially, I was going to title this post “jQuery for Designers,” but then I realized that has already been done before, twice.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

