Ramblings

April 2, 2008

I like WindowShade

Filed under: component, cool, education, flex — michaelangela @ 1:16 am

I like the WindowShade component from FlexLib. It’s going in a project now. 🙂 The example on this page uses LinkButtons for the header bit.

One of the reasons I like it though is that it’s light. One poster mentioned it should extend Panel and I have seen implementations of this. But because they extend Panel they pick up a lot of extra overhead… at least I imagine they do. Panel is incredibly useful. It does a lot. It’s got a lot of code to that “lot”. But in this case, WindowShade seems to work with something lighter weight which won’t slow the app down too much. Well we’ll see. I am no Flex guru and am always learning. I should put that in a disclaimer somewhere in this site. “I don’t know what I am doing! I am always figuring it out!” 🙂 Fortunately folks like those participating with FlexLib help us out. 🙂 It is much appreciated!

Doug McCune » Blog Archive » WindowShade component added to FlexLib

Here’s an example that uses LinkButtons for the headers. You can use any Button control (ie Button, LinkButton, CanvasButton).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

