Ramblings

December 7, 2009

The source of my early Java knowledge

Filed under: education, java — michaelangela @ 12:14 pm

Once upon a time I worked for Lucent. I worked with a lot of great people there and had a good time there actually except for the fact that I wanted to telecommute… except I don’t think that term was popular yet. But among the other good things that happened there, I got a chance to learn Java. And somewhere in that course, Bruce Eckel’s name came up and the resources for the class I took might have been based on his materials as well.

At any rate it is now time for a refresher. 🙂 Java has come a long way since then. Not to mention the computers. I think at  that time my work laptop was around 130MHz beast! But I’d have to ask to confirm that. 🙂

Note: all links to mindview.net are not working as it seems to be down. mindviewinc.com links work fine though.

Bruce Eckel’s Free Electronic Books

These are electronic books in HTML on C++ and Java, along with the source code. The HTML books are fully indexed, use Frames for easy navigation through the chapters, and have color syntax highlighting on all the source-code listings. Each HTML download contains an entire book and source code in a single zipped file.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

