Ramblings

December 11, 2009

Recommended programming books in the queue

Filed under: dev, education — michaelangela @ 5:10 am

I can’t find the site that brought me here. The first one, Code Complete Second Edition, reading now, is quite eye opening and written for someone just like me: the self taught developer. My major in college was East Asian Language and Culture with Japanese as the language of choice. I have forgotten most of the Japanese I learned and instead speak Chinese now. Go figure! The language learning process fascinated me though and I think that helped prep me for a career in development. So when my type was included in the “who this book is for” that really caught my eye.

The next one down, The Pragmatic Programmer, has been on my “want to read” list for a while ever since I heard about the Pragmatic Bookshelf and got some goodies on iPhone development there.

And with #3, Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, being available freely online, I can’t pass that up! 🙂

What is the single most influential book every programmer should read? – Stack Overflow

If you could go back in time and tell yourself to read a specific book at the beginning of your career as a developer, which book would it be?

I expect this list to be varied and to cover a wide range of things. For me, the book would be Code Complete. After reading that book, I was able to get out of the immediate task mindset and begin to think about the bigger picture, quality and maintainability.

Suggest your programming books

1 Comment »

  1. […] done without any guidance except “this is what it needs to do”. A recent post details recommended programming books. I’m in on the first one, Code Complete 2nd Edition, at section 3.5: Architecture […]

    Pingback by On the road to becoming a software architect « Ramblings — December 11, 2009 @ 1:56 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

